Jim’s Place is a Memphis dining tradition that began in 1921 when Nick Taras, along with Jim Katsoudes, opened the restaurant’s first location in the basement of the William Len Hotel in downtown Memphis. In 1927, Nick and his brothers Bill (pictured below) and George opened a second location on Union Avenue across from the Hotel Peabody. Jim’s remained a downtown Memphis dining landmark for many years, moving once again to South Second Street in 1967 when Bill’s sons, Costa and Dimitri, joined him in the business.
For many years, Bill’s wife Bessie dreamed of converting the family’s summer home in east Memphis into a restaurant. That dream became a reality in 1976 when Jim’s Place East opened, delighting a new generation of Memphis diners for nearly 35 years. In 2006, Jim’s Place expanded further east to Collierville where co-owner Dimitri opened Jim’s Place Grille with his two sons, James and Sam. Today, co-owners Costa and his son Bill continue the tradition with the opening of Jim’s Place Restaurant & Bar in the heart of East Memphis at Perkins and Poplar. The locations may have changed over the years but the family’s commitment to the best in food and service remains the same.
For nearly a century, Jim’s Place has maintained its reputation as a Memphis dining landmark, honoured with recognition and numerous awards including the Memphis Restaurant Association’s prestigious Pioneer Award. Jim's Place upholds a standard of excellence for fine food, service and hospitality which began many years ago. The Taras family is proud to enter its 10th decade of operation in a beautiful new home as they continue a supreme dining experience that has delighted three generations.